• Brazilian Graduate Student Conference

    BRASCON 2018 is on the way!

    Contact us at info@brasconference.org

  • Our dream is to create a network of competitive and innovative professors, researchers, and professional specialists to impact Brazilian science in the coming years!

    Mission

    To enable integration, communication and professional development for Brazilian graduate students in the United States, particularly those whose research field is related to Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM).

    Vision

    To become the largest platform for networking among Brazilian graduate students and professionals in the United States, companies, universities, government agencies, and research institutes from Brazil.
    To become an international reference for dissemination and exchange of scientific and technological knowledge in order to consolidate and expand science, technology and innovation in Brazil.

  • THE CONFERENCE

    The Brazilian Graduate Student Conference promotes activities to enable integration, communication, and professional development for Brazilian graduate students (professional or academic masters, sandwich or full doctoral, and postdoctoral) in the United States within the research fields of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM).

    MOTIVATION

    The need for networking among Brazilian students and professionals working in the United States inspired three Brazilian graduate students to create BRASCON.

    TARGET AUDIENCE

    All Brazilian graduate students are welcome to attend the conference. This will be a unique opportunity to exchange experiences among masters, doctoral and postdoctoral students from various scientific fields.

    GOALS

    Our goal is to connect Brazilian graduate students and professionals in the United States; to enable the dissemination of scientific research; to create a platform for interaction between students and companies; and to recognize talented students through awards.

  • BRASCON 2017 SCHEDULE

    Saturday- March 11, 2017

    • 08:00-09:00    Registration and networking
    • 09:00-09:40    Opening ceremony
    • 09:40-10:40     Keynote speaker - Reaching the sky and beyond: Dr. Angela Olinto
    • 10:40-11:00      Coffee break
    • 11:00-12:00      Panel 1 - Starting up: Dr. Agenor Mafra-Neto and Dr. Carolina Reis de Oliveira
       
    • 12:00-13:30      Lunch 
       
    • 13:30-14:30      Keynote speaker - Innovation and Entrepreneurship: Dr. Roberto dos Reis Alvarez
    • 14:30-15:30      Panel 2 - Research, Development, and Innovation in the industry: Patricia Araujo (J&J) and Marcus Mello (Chevron)
    • 15:30-15:45      Coffee break
    • 15:45-17:00     Opportunities Fair: Universities & Companies 
    • 17:00-19:00    Poster presentations

    Sunday - March 12, 2017

    • 08:00-08:30    Opening remarks
    • 08:30-09:30    Keynote speaker - Academic Innovation: Dr. Lúcio Soibelman 
    • 09:30-09:45    Coffee break
    • 09:45-11:45     Professional development workshop: Cia de Talentos (Maíra Habimorad and Tey Yanagawa)
       
    • 11:45-13:15     Lunch
       
    • 13:15-14:30     Keynote speaker - Interdisciplinarity and scientific advances: Dr. José Nelson Onuchic
    • 14:30-16:00    Oral presentations
    • 16:00-16:15    Coffee break 
    • 16:15-17:45     Keynote speaker - Career: less crisis, more planning: Maíra Habimorad
    • 17:45-18:30     Student Awards and Closing
  • BRASCON 2017 SPEAKERS

    Cônsul-Geral Bruno Bath

    Consulado-Geral do Brasil em Los Angeles

    Dr. Angela
    Olinto

    Professor and Researcher at the University of Chicago

    Dr. José Nelson Onuchic

    Professor and Researcher at Rice University

    Maíra
    Habimorad

    CEO of Cia
    de Talentos

    Dr. Lúcio Soibelman

    Chair of the Sonny Astani Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering USC

    Patrícia Araujo

    Human Resources Director

    J&J External Innovation

    Dr. Marcus Dutra
    e Mello

    Staff R&D Engineer and Innovator at Chevron

    Dr. Roberto
    Alvarez

    Executive Director of the Global Federation of Competitiveness Councils

    Dr. Agenor
    Mafra-Neto

    CEO of ISCA

    Dra. Carolina Reis Oliveira

    CEO & Founder of OneSkin Technologies

  • SPEAKERS from 2016

    Dr. Miguel Nicolelis

    Neurobiology professor at Duke University

    Dr. Marcelo Gleiser

    Professor and theoretical physicist at Dartmouth University

    Dra. Cristina Caldas

    SciBr Foundation president

    Dr. Leonardo Teixeira

    Research director at GeneWEAVE, Roche

    Ana
    Lopes

    Business development director at Boston University

    Dr. Bernardo Lemos

    Geneticist, from
    Harvard University

    Glivânia Oliveira

    Brazilian Consul General in Boston

    Dr. Márcio Resende

    RAPiD Genomics CEO

  •  

    BRASCON 2017 was at University of Southern California, Los Angeles

    Check out how

    BRASCON 2016 was!

    Guess where BRASCON 2018 will be?

  • MEDIA

    Check the links below and learn what the media has
    been writing about BRASCON:

    'Pós-graduandos brasileiros realizam encontro em universidade americana' (Brazilian graduate students 

    'Estudantes brasileiros preparam evento em Harvard' (Brazilian students organize event in Harvard)

    BRASCON to bring together Brazilian grad students in the U.S.

    If you wish to know more information about BRASCON and receive our press release or if you would like to cover our conference on March 11-12, 2017, please contact our team.

  • TEAM

    The students and professionals that make the BRASCON possible!

    Carleara

    General Director

    carleara@brasconference.org

    Tássia

    General Director

    tassia@brasconference.org

    Vanessa

    General Director

    vanessa@brasconference.org

    Aline Park

    Marketing Director

    aline.park@brasconference.org

    Cristiano

    Content Director

    cristiano@brasconference.org

    Davi

    Adviser

    davi@gobrasa.org

    Fernanda

    BRASA coordinator

    fernanda.gushken@gobrasa.org

    Gustavo

    Adviser

    gustavo@brasconference.org

    Isabella

    Corporate Liaison

    isabella@brasconference.org

    Jéssica

    Finance Director

    jessica@brasconference.org

    Karin

    Logistics Director

    karin@brasconference.org

    Pedro

    Recruiting Director

    pedro@brasconference.org

    Sara

    Public Relations Director

    sara@brasconference.org

    Ana

    Design Coordinator

    ana@brasconference.org

    Clara

    Logistics Coordinator

    clara@brasconference.org

    Fernanda

    Finance Coordinator

    fernanda.gushken@gobrasa.org

    Flávio

    Logistics Coordinator

    flavio@brasconference.org

    Gabriela

    Content Coordinator

    gabriela@brasconference.org

    Lorena

    Content Coordinator

    lorena@brasconference.org

    Luísa

    Content Coordinator

    luisa@brasconference.org

    Luiz Felipe

    Content Coordinator

    felipe@brasconference.org

    Mariana

    Marketing Coordinator

    mariana@brasconference.org

    Raquel

    Recruiting Coordinator

    raquel@brasconference.org

    Silvia

    Recruiting Coordinator

    silvia@brasconference.org

    Thiago

    Content Coordinator

    thiago@brasconference.org

  • ORGANIZERS

    BRASA Global

    BRASCON

    BRASA USC

  • SPONSORS

  • PARTNERS

  • CONTACT US

  • Connect with us

    Join us on social media!

    Facebook
    Email
    BRASA
    Instagram